The social networking site has reportedly admitted that it had been keeping deleted photos for a 'limited' amount of time, according to technology site ArsTechnica. And this 'limited' period can go up to 30 months! When you delete a photo that you have uploaded on Facebook, what happens to it? If you thought it would be deleted forever, you are mistaken. All those 'secret' photos you no longer want to keep online are still lying there, even after you delete it. Eventually what happens is that the users who have kept the direct link to photos that were originally uploaded to the social networking site have been able to still gain access to them months, even years after deletion, the report said referring to one report in technology site ArsTechnica.
As per the report, a Facebook user said he had deleted an image from the site 30 months ago and that it was still available to see on the site. Another said a photo from April 2009 was still accessible after it was deleted.
Facebook spokesman Simon Axten told technology site that the company is actively working with its CDN on this issue, said the report. “It's possible that someone who previously had access to a photo and saved the direct URL from our content delivery network partner could still access the photo,” Axten said. “However, again, the person would have to know the URL, and the photo only exists in the CDN's cache for a limited amount of time. We're working with the CDN to reduce the amount of time that the photo remains in its cache.” He said the company is currently working with the CDN on a fix that will delete photo and video content from the CDN's cache shortly after it's removed on Facebook.
The revelation comes as encryption expert and author Bruce Schneier slammed the site at the RSA Conference in London overnight, saying social networking companies were deliberately killing privacy for commercial gain, reported Sydney Morning Herald. “Less privacy makes a better market for social networks. Facebook is the worst offender - not because it's evil but because its market is selling user data to its commercial partners,” The Register quoted Schneier as saying.